Team

  • Pr Geneviève ROUGON (DRCE émérite CNRS)
  • Dr Franck DEBARBIEUX (MCU AMU)
  • C. MEUNIER (IE CDI Eurobio)
  • Marie Claude AMOUREUX (CDI Eurobio)
  • Lisa LAMASSE (IE CDD CNRS ANR)
  • Clément RICARD (IR CDD AP-HM, Cancéropole)
  • Aurélie TCHONGHANDIAN (IR CDD AP-HM CIRIC)
  • Alexandre JAOUEN (IE CNRS ANR puis bourse CIFRE)
  • Charles-Vivien OLIVIERI (stagiaire ingénieur)

Location

  • Labs : basement and 1st floor (Level 0 and +1)
  • Office : Tertiary Deptt (Level +1)
  • Contact us

Activities

The team is studying cell-cell interactions in the normal and diseased nervous system. The ultimate goal is to understand these cellular dynamics and then use this acquired knowledge to possibly treat pathological conditions. During the last five years, the team has devoted its efforts to set up two in vivo imaging modalities with two scales of spatial resolution, X-ray micro computed tomography (CT) and 2-photon (2P) microscopy. So far, by combining the use of transgenic multicolor fluorescent mice with chronic in vivo 2P imaging techniques the team has described over time and space the interplay between neural cells and angiogenesis in the context of glioblastoma (GBM) and spinal cord injury (SCI). The team is presently studying the dynamics of neuronal/vascular/inflammatory responses in SCI and GBM. VEGF is upregulated in these pathologies and can act on several cellular targets in addition to its angiogenic action. VEGF-dependent events and their time window are clarified using gain and loss of function approaches in view to help optimizing VEGF based treatment protocols.

In collaboration with the XGam team (CPPM) a high resolution computed tomography (micro-CT) system PIXSCAN based on a new generation of detectors called Hybrid Pixel Detectors (HPS), has been developed and validated. The team ongoing project is to implement a multicolor CT scanner to obtain complementary information (mainly all body information) on the same animals previously imaged with the 2P microscope at a local scale.

Media

CT imaging of a mouse bearing a GFP-expressing GBM implanted in cortex

Fluorescent macroscope imaging of a mouse bearing a GFP-expressing GBM implanted in cortex

2P imaging of a mouse bearing a GFP-expressing GBM implanted in cortex

Biphoton microscopy

Fluorescence microscopy with infrared LASER scanning in straight configuration above a micrometric motorized deck, capable of receiving a stereotaxy device for rodents under the objective. A thermostated surrounding wall at 34°C surrounds the motorized deck. The femtosecond pulsed infrared LASER comes with several watts and is compatible with the 700-1020nm range to allow an optimal excitement of a broad selection of fluorophores. The adjustable intensity (1% precision) between 0 and 100 % allows the imaging on >700µm depth in vivo in the brain. The objectives for IR until 1020nm have a digital opening superior to 0.8 and magnify sufficiently to obtain a submicrometric definition of the image on a field >400µm. The detection system of the very sensitive fluorescence allows to acquire simultaneously several colors to follow the dynamics of the interactions between several populations of cells on alive animals.

Références

1. Ricard, C., Stanchi, F., Rougon, G., Debarbieux, F. An Orthotopic Glioblastoma Mouse Model Maintaining Brain Parenchymal Physical Constraints and Suitable for Intravital Two-photon Microscopy. J. Vis. Exp. (), e51108, doi:10.3791/51108 (2014). Jove Video

2. Ricard C, Stanchi F, Weber P, Rougon G, Debarbieux F. An Orthotopic Glioblastoma Mouse Model Maintaining Brain Parenchymal Physical Constraints and Suitable for Intravital Two-photon Microscopy J Vis Exp. 2014 (in press)

3. Ricard C, Debarbieux FC. Six-color intravital two-photon imaging of brain tumors and their dynamic microenvironment. Front Cell Neurosci. 2014 Feb 24;8:57. doi: 10.3389/fncel.2014.00057.

4. Fenrich KK, Weber P, Rougon G, Debarbieux F.Implanting glass spinal cord windows in adult mice with experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis. J Vis Exp. 2013 Dec 21;(82):e50826. doi: 10.3791/50826
.
.5. Ricard C, Stanchi F, Rodriguez T, Amoureux MC, Rougon G, Debarbieux F. Dynamic Quantitative Intravital Imaging of Glioblastoma Progression Reveals a Lack of Correlation between Tumor Growth and Blood Vessel Density. PLoS One. 2013 Sep 12;8(9):e72655

6 . Fenrich KK, Weber P, Rougon G, Debarbieux F. (2013) Long and short term intravital imaging reveals differential spatiotemporal recruitment and function of myeloid cells after spinal cord injury J Physiol.; 2013 Sep 9.

7. Fenrich KK, Weber P, Hocine M, Zalc M, Rougon G, Debarbieux F. (2012) Long‐term in vivo imaging of normal and pathological mouse spinal cord with subcellular resolution using implanted glass windows. J Physiol.; 590:3665-­‐75.

  • Christian MOREL (Co-responsable secteur)
  • Thomas FABIANI
  • ITA en mécanique/mécatronique

The technological department is dedicated to assembling and setting up innovative imaging systems.

This department is a technical lab dealing with integration and validation of complex prototypes. This lab comes with a 180 sqm assembly hall, adjacent to a 80 sqm mechanic workshop. The 77 sqm clinical experiment room allows to accommodate for clinical purpose in one and same place, the prototypes assembled beforehand in the hall. Underground, a second 50 sqm experiment room part of the SPF zone of the preclinical department allows the implementation of prototypes for preclinical imaging. These devices are completed by:

  • una workshop for electronics (48 sqm),
  • un a workshop for optics(38 sqm),
  • une a grey room (30 sqm),
  • une a CAD room (20 sqm),
  • une a server room (30 sqm).

The technological department is placed under the responsibility of the CPPM (Centre de Physique des Particules de Marseille) technical services, for mechanics, eclectronics, and computing.

Equipment

Assembly Hall

The assembly hall is subdivided into a zone of delivery, a zone of storage and a zone of assembly. The hall of assembly is also accessible by a large gate allowing the entrance of a 19-ton truck in the zone of delivery. A zone of storage equipped with a mezzanine is next to the zone of delivery. The zone of assembly can itself be subdivided into 6 workspaces linked individually with the various networks (electricity, gas and IT) and being able to be separated by removable protective walls of concrete. The whole assembly hall comes with a 5-ton charge crane.

Workshop for mechanics

The workshop for mechanics allows to bring a logistic support to the teams working on the assembly and validation of the prototypes. It is equipped with diverse machines and tools, of a metrology cabin and a mezzanine for storage.

Workshop for electronics

The workshop for electronics allows testing and assembly of electronic boards. It includes two electronics engineer’s workbenches equipped with the necessary furnitures for setting up electronic boards (oscilloscope, logical analyzer, multimeasure, etc.).

Workshop for optics

The workshop for optics is a room without window, with darkening airlock, endowed with a double normal and inactinic lighting. It is equipped with an optical table and elements of optics (lasers, objects carrier, lenses, diaphragms, etc.) necessary for the realization of bench tests in optics.

Grey room

The grey room is in overpressure, endowed with an airlock for entrance allowing to guarantee one degree of cleanliness of the air equivalent to 30 000 particles/m3, enabling the assembly of devices requiring strict cleanliness conditions (integrated circuits, twinkling modules, etc.). It includes a laminar flow cell.

CAD room

The CAD room allows to accommodate up to four workstations for the design of mechanical plans and electronic boards.

Server room

The server room, endowed with ventilated cupboards and invertersupplies arranged on a false floor, enables the accomodation of digital systems (calculation farms, CPU/GPU cluster, storage bays, etc.) and routers necessary for the smooth running of the building and all its activities.

Mecatronic tomXgam bench

Besides, the experiment room of the Preclinical Department will be equipped with the tomXgam mecatronics bench developed in the CPPM. Established with two rotators on a common translation rail and fed by slip rings, tomXgam will host prototypes of detection and/or irradiation to allow the acquisition of tomographic data on spiral trajectories around a retractable animal support. Rotators can be either enslaved or operated independently and will be accompanied with a mobile specific equipment allowing to disengage them and to handle them in the hall of assembly.

Prestations

The technological sector will support the experiments approved by the CERIMED commitee on proposal of the Scientific Orientation Council of CERIMED, up to the number of ETP awarded by the projects partners to the Technological department (mechanics, electronics, computing) for the fulfillment of this service.

Equipe

  • Pr Geneviève ROUGON (DRCE émérite CNRS)
  • Dr Franck DEBARBIEUX (MCU AMU)
  • C. MEUNIER (IE CDI Eurobio)
  • Marie Claude AMOUREUX (CDI Eurobio)
  • Lisa LAMASSE (IE CDD CNRS ANR)
  • Clément RICARD (IR CDD AP-HM, Cancéropole)
  • Aurélie TCHONGHANDIAN (IR CDD AP-HM CIRIC)
  • Alexandre JAOUEN (IE CNRS ANR puis bourse CIFRE)
  • Charles-Vivien OLIVIERI (stagiaire ingénieur)

Activités

L’équipe étudie les interactions cellules-cellules dans le système nerveux sain et pathologique. Le but ultime est de comprendre cette dynamique cellulaire et d’utiliser ces connaissances pour éventuellement traiter les pathologies. Ces cinq dernières années, l’équipe s’est attachée à mettre au point deux modalités d’imagerie in vivo à 2 échelles de résolution spatiale : micro-tomodensitométrie rayons X (CT) et microscopie biphotonique (2P). De fait, en associant l’utilisation de souris transgéniques multicolores en fluorescence avec des techniques d’imagerie 2P chroniques in vivo, l’équipe a décrit dans le temps et l’espace l’interaction entre les cellules nerveuses et l’angiogenèse dans le contexte du glioblastome (GBM) et d’une blessure de la moelle épinière (SCI pour Spinal Cord Injury). L’équipe étudie actuellement la dynamique des réponses neuronale/vasculaire/inflammatoire dans les SCI et GBM. Le VEGF est surexprimé dans ces pathologies et peut agir sur diverses cibles cellulaires en plus de son action angiogénique. Les événements VEGF-dépendants et leur temps d’action sont clarifiés en utilisant des approches de fonction de perte et de gain pour aider à optimiser les protocoles de traitement basés sur le VEGF.

En collaboration avec l’équipe XGam (CPPM), un système de tomodensitométrie haute résolution (micro-CT), PIXSCAN, basé sur une nouvelle génération de détecteurs HPS (Hybrid Pixel Detectors), a été mis au point et validé. L’équipe a pour projet actuellement un scanner CT multicolore pour obtenir des informations complémentaires (surtout corps entier) sur les mêmes animaux préalablement imagés sur une partie d’intérêt sur le microscope 2P.

Médias

CT imaging of a mouse bearing a GFP-expressing GBM implanted in cortex

Fluorescent macroscope imaging of a mouse bearing a GFP-expressing GBM implanted in cortex

2P imaging of a mouse bearing a GFP-expressing GBM implanted in cortex

Situation

  • Labos : rez-de-chaussée et 1er étage (Niveaux 0 et +1)
  • Bureaux : Secteur Tertiaire (Niveau +1)
  • Contactez-nous

Atelier d’optique

Microscopie Biphotonique

Microscope de fluorescence à balayage laser infrarouge, monté en configuration droite au dessus d’une platine motorisée micrométrique et capable d’accueillir un dispositif de stéréotaxie pour rongeur sous la frontale de l’objectif. Une enceinte thermostatée à 34°C entoure la platine motorisée. Le laser infrarouge pulsé femtoseconde de plusieurs watts est accordable sur toute la plage 700-1020nm pour permettre une excitation optimale d’une grande gamme de fluorophores. L’intensité réglable à 1% près entre 0 et 100% autorise l’imagerie sur >700µm de profondeur in vivo dans le cerveau. Les objectifs traités pour l’IR jusqu’à 1020nm ont une ouverture numérique supérieure à 0.8 et des grossissements permettant d’obtenir une définition submicrométrique de l’image sur un champ > 400µm. Le système de détection de la fluorescence très sensible permet d’acquérir simultanément plusieurs couleurs afin de suivre la dynamique des interactions entre plusieurs populations de cellules sur animal vivant.

Références

1. Ricard, C., Stanchi, F., Rougon, G., Debarbieux, F. An Orthotopic Glioblastoma Mouse Model Maintaining Brain Parenchymal Physical Constraints and Suitable for Intravital Two-photon Microscopy. J. Vis. Exp. (), e51108, doi:10.3791/51108 (2014). Jove Video

2. Ricard C, Stanchi F, Weber P, Rougon G, Debarbieux F. An Orthotopic Glioblastoma Mouse Model Maintaining Brain Parenchymal Physical Constraints and Suitable for Intravital Two-photon Microscopy J Vis Exp. 2014 (in press)

3. Ricard C, Debarbieux FC. Six-color intravital two-photon imaging of brain tumors and their dynamic microenvironment. Front Cell Neurosci. 2014 Feb 24;8:57. doi: 10.3389/fncel.2014.00057.

4. Fenrich KK, Weber P, Rougon G, Debarbieux F.Implanting glass spinal cord windows in adult mice with experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis. J Vis Exp. 2013 Dec 21;(82):e50826. doi: 10.3791/50826
.
.5. Ricard C, Stanchi F, Rodriguez T, Amoureux MC, Rougon G, Debarbieux F. Dynamic Quantitative Intravital Imaging of Glioblastoma Progression Reveals a Lack of Correlation between Tumor Growth and Blood Vessel Density. PLoS One. 2013 Sep 12;8(9):e72655

6 . Fenrich KK, Weber P, Rougon G, Debarbieux F. (2013) Long and short term intravital imaging reveals differential spatiotemporal recruitment and function of myeloid cells after spinal cord injury J Physiol.; 2013 Sep 9.

7. Fenrich KK, Weber P, Hocine M, Zalc M, Rougon G, Debarbieux F. (2012) Long‐term in vivo imaging of normal and pathological mouse spinal cord with subcellular resolution using implanted glass windows. J Physiol.; 590:3665-­‐75.

  • Christian MOREL (Co-responsable secteur)
  • Thomas FABIANI
  • ITA en mécanique/mécatronique

Le secteur technologique est consacré à l’assemblage et la mise en œuvre de systèmes d’imagerie innovants.

Il dispose pour cela d’un plateau technique orienté vers les tâches d’intégration et de validation de prototypes complexes. Ce plateau technique est constitué d’un hall d’assemblage de 180 m2 attenant à un atelier de mécanique de 80 m2. Bordant le hall d’assemblage, une salle d’expérimentation clinique de 77 m2 permet d’héberger dans un espace intégré à la zone d’accueil des patients, les prototypes assemblés préalablement dans le hall. En sous-sol, une seconde salle d’expérimentation de 50 m2 intégrée à la zone EOPS du secteur préclinique permet la mise en œuvre de prototypes d’imagerie préclinique. Ces dispositifs sont complétés par :

  • un atelier d’électronique de 48 m2,
  • un atelier d’optique de 38 m2,
  • une salle grise de 30 m2,
  • une salle CAO de 20 m2,
  • une salle serveurs de 30 m2.

L’ensemble du secteur technologique est placé sous la responsabilité des services techniques (mécanique, électronique, et informatique) du CPPM.

Hall d’assemblage

Le hall d’assemblage est subdivisé en une zone de livraison, une zone de stockage et une zone d’assemblage. Le hall d’assemblage est accessible de plain-pied par une porte permettant l’entrée d’un camion de 19 t dans la zone de livraison. Une zone de stockage équipée d’une mezzanine est attenante à la zone de livraison. La zone d’assemblage peut elle-même être subdivisée en 6 espaces de travail raccordés individuellement aux différents réseaux du bâtiment (courant fort, courant faible, air comprimé et informatique) et pouvant être séparés par des murs amovibles de protection en béton. L’ensemble du hall d’assemblage est desservi par un pont roulant de 5 t.

Atelier Mécanique

L’atelier de mécanique permet d’apporter un soutien logistique aux équipes travaillant à l’assemblage et à la validation des prototypes. Il est équipé de diverses machines outils, (tour, fraiseuse numérique, perceuse à colonne, plieuse, coupeuse, scie à métaux, poste de soudure, etc.), d’une cabine vitrée de métrologie et d’une mezzanine de stockage.

Atelier d’électronique

L’atelier d’électronique permet le test et l’assemblage de cartes électroniques. Il comprend deux établis d’électronicien équipés du matériel nécessaire à la réalisation de cartes électroniques (oscilloscope, analyseur logique, multimètres, postes à souder, etc.).

Atelier d’optique

L’atelier d’optique est une salle sans fenêtre, avec sas d’obscurcissement, dotée d’un double éclairage normal et inactinique. Elle est équipée d’une table optique et d’éléments d’optiques (lasers, portes objets, lentilles, diaphragmes, etc.) nécessaires à la réalisation de bancs tests en optique.

Salle grise

La salle grise est une salle en surpression dotée d’un sas d’entrée permettant d’assurer un degré de propreté de l’air équivalent à 30 000 particules/m3 pour permettre l’assemblage de dispositifs nécessitant des conditions strictes de propreté (circuits intégrés, modules scintillants, etc.). Elle comprend une hotte à flux laminaire.

Salle CAO

La salle CAO permet d’héberger jusqu’à quatre postes de travail pour la conception de plans mécaniques et de cartes électroniques.

Salle Serveurs

La salle serveurs, dotée d’armoires ventilées et d’alimentations de secours (onduleurs) disposées sur un faux plancher, permet d’héberger les systèmes numériques (fermes de calcul, cluster CPU/GPU, nœud de grille, baies de stockage, etc.) et les routeurs nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du bâtiment et de toutes ses activités.

Banc mécatronique tomXgam

En outre, la salle d’expérimentation du secteur préclinique sera équipée du banc mécatronique tomXgam développé au CPPM. Constitué de deux rotateurs montés sur un rail de translation commun et alimentés par des connecteurs tournants (slip rings), tomXgam accueillera des prototypes de détection et/ou d’irradiation pour permettre l’acquisition de données tomographiques sur des trajectoires spiralées autour d’un support animal rétractable. Les rotateurs pourront être soit asservis soit opérés indépendamment et seront accompagné d’un outillage spécifique mobile permettant de les désengager et de les transporter dans le hall d’assemblage.

Prestations

Le secteur technologique interviendra en tant que support aux expériences agréées par le Comité de Pilotage du CERIMED sur proposition du Conseil d’Orientation Scientifique du CERIMED, à concurrence du nombre d’ETP attribués par les partenaires des projets aux services techniques (mécanique, électronique, informatique) du CPPM pour l’accomplissement de cette prestation.