Origins

The CERIMED concept was developped by Dr Paul Lecoq, senior physicist at CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research) in the continuity of the Crystal Clear European network. This network had been established to promote the transfer of research stemming from large scale physics experiments to the sector of biology and medicine. Promoted since 2005 by the Université de la Méditerranée, CERIMED was developed with two goals :

  • Validation of new medical imaging techniques: development or optimization of new instruments, development and validation of new radiopharmaceutics for the exploration and follow-up of various pathologies. Studies will be performed on animal models before transfer to human subjects.
  • Providing a complete platform of in vivo preclinical and clinical imaging to academic laboratories and biotechnology companies.

Ambitions on an European scale

Since 2005, the CERIMED project is in the hands of the Aix-Marseille University (formerly Université de la Méditerranée) in partnership with several laboratories, institutions, national and European industries. CERIMED suggests to offer on one and the same site a space for synergies and discussions between the different disciplines that make up < strong > medical imaging < / strong >, in close links with the industry.

The aim is to create in Europe a pole of excellence meeting the skills and infrastructures whiwh allow a research program and ambitious development to be led, for the conception and validation of the upcoming generations of imaging systems, which we know will contribute decisively to solve big problems faced by public health.

The ambition is to put Europe in a dominant position on the market of medical imaging by strengthening the synergy between all concerned, whether they be institutional or industrial.


Excellence and Transversality

The European Center of Research in Medical imaging (CERIMED), is unique in both its conception and its infrastructure, being a platform of partnership and pluridisciplinary service and research.

It suggests to offer on the Health Campus of Marseille (France), spaces of synergies between the different disciplines of preclinical and medical imaging, in close links with the industry. CERIMED will be open to the academic laboratories and to the firms in biotechnology and instrumentation in its three founding missions:


Background

  • 1990 : Crystal Clear
  • 2005 : Initiative taken by Dr Paul Lecoq, Senior Physician at CERN
  • Operation supported by CPER 2007-2013 for infrastructure and equipment
  • 2009 : Marseille Aménagement chosen for the works
  • 2009 : A.O.T et Research Partnership with Advanced Accelerator Applications (AAA)
  • 2010 : GFC Construction chosen for the infrastructure 11/10/2010
  • Mai 2011 : Start of the works, expected delivery : november 2012

Resources

A l’origine

Le concept du CERIMED a été élaboré par le Dr Paul Lecoq, physicien senior au CERN (Conseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire) dans le continuum du réseau européen Crystal Clear. Ce réseau avait été constitué pour promouvoir le transfert de la recherche issue des grandes expériences de physique vers la biologie et la santé. Projet porté par l’Université de la Méditerranée depuis 2005, le CERIMED a alors été développé avec deux ambitions :

  • La validation de nouvelles techniques d’imagerie médicale : développement ou optimisation de nouveaux instruments, mise au point et validation de nouveaux radiopharmaceutiques pour l’exploration et le suivi de différentes pathologies. Les études seront réalisées dans des modèles animaux de pathologie humaine avant le transfert à l’homme.
  • La mise à disposition des laboratoires académiques et des sociétés de biotechnologies d’une plateforme complète d’imagerie préclinique et clinique in vivo.

Des ambitions à l’échelle européenne

Le projet CERIMED est porté depuis 2005 à Marseille par l’Université Aix-Marseille (anciennement Université de la Méditerranée) en liaison avec de nombreux laboratoires, institutions et industries nationales et Européennes. Cerimed propose d’offrir sur un même site un espace de synergies et de discussions entre les différentes disciplines des sciences de l’imagerie médicale, en liaison étroite avec l’industrie.

Le but est de créer en Europe d’un pôle d’excellence regroupant les compétences et les infrastructures permettant de mener un programme de recherche et développement ambitieux, pour la conception et la validation des prochaines générations de systèmes d’imagerie, dont on sait qu’ils contribueront de manière décisive à la solution des grands problèmes de santé publique.

L’ambition affichée est de donner à l’Europe une position dominante sur le marché de l’imagerie médicale en renforçant la synergie entre tous les acteurs concernés, institutionnels et industriels.


Excellence et Transversalité

Le Centre Européen de Recherche en Imagerie Médicale (CERIMED), original dans sa conception et son infrastructure, est une plateforme partenariale et pluridisciplinaire de service et de recherche.

Il propose d’offrir sur le campus Santé de la Timone à Marseille, un espace de synergies entre les différentes disciplines des sciences de l’imagerie préclinique et médicale, en liaison étroite avec l’industrie. Le CERIMED sera ouvert aux laboratoires académiques et aux sociétés spécialisées en biotechnologie et instrumentation dans ses trois missions fondatrices :


Historique

  • 1990 : Crystal Clear
  • 2005 : Initiative Paul Lecoq, Physicien Senior au CERN
  • Opération soutenue par le CPER 2007-2013 pour infrastructure et équipement
  • 2009 : Marseille Aménagement mandataire de la maîtrise d’ouvrage
  • 2009 : A.O.T et Partenariat Recherche avec la compagnie Advanced Accelerator Applications (AAA)
  • 2010 : GFC Construction pour l’infrastructure 11/10/2010
  • Mai 2011 : Début des travaux, livraison prévue du bâtiment : novembre 2012