Medical imaging challenges

Medical imaging s a century-old subject, the spectacular developments of which have more than once revolutionized medical practice, ever since Wilhelm Roentgen X-rayed the squeleton of his wife’s hand which had been exposed to a beam of X-rays. Since this discovery (which it is good to remind that it was accidental) the other diagnostic approaches of human tissues have seen the light, such as isotopic imaging, computed tomography ( CT), ultrasounds, fluoroscopy, and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).

Nowadays, imaging allows not only to visualize anyone’s organ in its very details, but it also gives access to the mechanism of action of the main diseases. It shows us in a striking way, in three dimensions and in color, the contractions of the myocardium or sections of the abdomen or the brain. It can also be used to show the flow of water along nerve fibers or along blood in the arteries, to visualize cells either being born or dying within a tumor or antibodies fighting an infection, to practise a virtual coloscopy, or even to see how feelings , such as the fear or the love, within the brain.

At the same time, the progress made in biology with, among others, the decoding of the human genome, has opened amazing perspectives of diagnosis and therapy, and has motivated the need for a technique: the multimodal molecular imaging. Today, the latter relies on isotopic imaging coupled with X-ray or magnetic resonance imaging which provides more and more precise imaging, and also allows to analyze and to quantify the main metabolic functions at the cellular scale. In fact, it is not only necessary to detect diseases but also to identify them, to estimate their aggressiveness, to quantify their reaction to a therapy in order to optimize the latter. It is also necessary to assist surgeons, to enable them to finalize their operating strategy by way of virtual representations of the patient and by following in real-time the movement of their instruments within the complex environment of the human body.

All this progress can only develop with a voluntarist, multidisciplinary and coordinated action.

PET imaging concept

The new generation of instruments is based on significant breakthroughs resulting from technological leaps and bounds of physics, material, optics, electronics sciences, information technologies, as much so as in the field of molecular biology and medical sciences.

This approach must be as dynamic and interactive as possible between the developers of imaging ystems, physicians, engineers, IT specialists, chemists and the users,whether they be clinicians or biologists, and in close partnership with the industry.

There will be a particular emphasis on a new generation of systems of highly sensitive molecular imaging systems with very good spatial and temporal resolution, with real multimodal capacities, which will enable one to associate during the same examination: molecular, functional and morphological imaging.

The aim is to reach in a precise, rapid and quantitative way the characterization of major pathologies which could be individual by non invasive and low-dose approaches. This should result in a better care of patients, for screening, diagnosis, and therapy, with an obvious impact on the patients’ comfort and the cost for the society.

PET imaging of a metastasized cancer patient

PET-CT imaging of a partially-necrosed lung tumor after treatment
(thanks to D. Townsend, UPMC, USA)

PET-CT imaging of a vertebral tumor (thanks to D. Townsend, UPMC, USA)

  • The CERIMED project introduction (2005) Nota : many informations have evolved since this document’s parution.

Les défis de l’imagerie médicale

L’imagerie médicale est une discipline vieille d’un siècle, dont les développements spectaculaires ont plusieurs fois révolutionné la pratique médicale depuis que Wilhelm Roentgen a radiographié le squelette de la main de son épouse exposée à un faisceau de rayons X. Depuis cette découverte (dont il est bon de rappeler qu’elle fut accidentelle) d’autres approches diagnostiques des tissus vivants ont vu le jour, telles que l’imagerie isotopique, la tomographie assistée par ordinateur (CT), les ultrasons, la fluoroscopie, la résonance magnétique.

Aujourd’hui, l’imagerie permet non seulement de visualiser chaque organe avec luxe de détails, mais elle donne aussi accès au mode d’action des principales maladies. Elle nous montre de façon saisissante, en trois dimensions et en couleur, les contractions du myocarde ou des coupes de l’abdomen ou du cerveau. On peut suivre le débit d’eau le long des fibres nerveuses ou du sang dans les artères, visualiser des cellules en train de naître ou de mourir au sein d’une tumeur ou des anticorps combattant une infection, pratiquer une coloscopie virtuelle, ou même voir comment s’expriment nos émotions, telles que la peur ou l’amour, à l’intérieur même du cerveau.

Parallèlement les progrès de la biologie, avec entre autres le décryptage du génome humain, ouvrent de formidables perspectives de diagnostic et de thérapie, et motivent la demande pour une technique : l’imagerie moléculaire multimodale. Celle-ci repose à ce jour sur l’imagerie isotopique couplée à l’imagerie X ou par résonnance magnétique qui doit fournir des images de plus en plus précises, et aussi permettre d’analyser et de quantifier les principales fonctions métaboliques au niveau de la cellule. En effet il faut non seulement détecter mais identifier les maladies, estimer leur agressivité, quantifier leur réponse à une thérapie afin de l’optimiser. Il faut aussi assister les chirurgiens, leur permettre de mettre au point leur stratégie opératoire sur des représentations virtuelles du patient et suivre ensuite en temps réel le mouvement de leurs instruments dans l’environnement complexe du corps humain.

Tous ces progrès ne peuvent se développer sans une action volontariste, pluridisciplinaire et coordonnée.

La nouvelle génération d’instruments repose sur des percées significatives résultant de sauts technologiques en physique, sciences des matériaux, optique, électronique, sciences de l’information, tout autant que dans le domaine de la biologie moléculaire et des sciences médicales.

Cette approche doit être aussi dynamique et interactive que possible entre les développeurs de systèmes d’imagerie, physiciens, ingénieurs, informaticiens, chimistes et les utilisateurs, qu’ils soient cliniciens ou biologistes, et ce en partenariat étroit avec les industriels.

L’accent sera mis en particulier sur une nouvelle génération de systèmes d’imagerie moléculaire de haute sensibilité et de très bonne résolution spatiale et temporelle, avec de vraies capacités multimodales, qui permettront d’associer lors d’un même examen : imagerie moléculaire, fonctionnelle et morphologique.

Principe de l’imagerie TEP

Le but est d’accéder de façon précise, rapide et quantitative à une caractérisation de pathologies majeures qui pourra être individuelle par des approches non invasives et à moindre doses. Ceci doit permettre une meilleure prise en charge des patients, tant au niveau du dépistage, du diagnostic que du traitement, avec un impact évident sur leur confort et le coût de ces pathologies pour la société.

Image TEP d’un patient cancéreux avec de multiples métastases

Image TEP-CT d’une tumeur du poumon partiellement nécrosée après traitement
(avec la permission de D. Townsend, UPMC, USA)

Image fusionnée TEP-TDM d’une tumeur vertébrale (avec la permission de D. Townsend, UPMC, USA)

  • Brochure de présentation du projet CERIMED (2005) Nota : de nombreuses informations ont évolué depuis la parution de ce document.